Iowa Chapter Scholarships

CPCU Iowa Chapter Scholarships have been awarded to deserving applicants for many years. The chapter provides up to two (2) scholarships of $2,000 each per year. One of the scholarships, the Theodore "Ted" Lussem Achievement Scholarship, is named for Ted Lussem, CPCU, a past president of our chapter who is a leader in the Iowa insurance community.

To apply for either the undergraduate or graduate scholarship, download the application and instructions below.

Undergraduate Scholarship Application

Graduate Scholarship Application 

The Burkhalter Award

The Burkhalter Award is presented at I-Day to a person who has made significant contributions to the community and the Iowa insurance industry. The Burkhalter Award is designed to recognize individuals who have influenced the Iowa property and casualty insurance industry and their community through civic involvement.

The Burkhalter Award is named after Major General Louis D. Burkhalter Jr. who was the first individual in Iowa to attain the CPCU designation; a charter member of the Iowa Chapter of CPCU; the first president of the Iowa Chapter and an inductee of the Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame.

Mr. Burkhalter had a long and distinguished career in the insurance industry, military and through his civic activities. Major General Burkhalter died July 19, 2007 at the age of 98. Nominees for this award will be evaluated based upon the following categories:

  • Continuing education promoting insurance within the business community through civic & non civic activities.
  • Achievements beyond primary professional responsibilities, e.g. voluntary work within the industry.
  • Research efforts and innovation within the industry.
  • Specific achievements which benefit the industry or the insuring public.
  • Legislative activities leadership.


The Iowa Chapter is seeking qualified recipients for its prestigious Burkhalter Award. If you know someone or an organization who has made an outstanding contribution to our profession, we urge you to let us know. To nominate an individual for the Burkhalter Award, download a nomination form.

Year Recipient

2019 Cerie Garton, CPCU (Posthumously)
2018 Jeff Jeffus, CPCU
2017 Jennie LeGates, CPCU, ARM, AU, AIS, ARE, API, ARC, CPIW
2016 Kevin Seward, CPCU
2015 Bob Conroy, CPCU, CIC
2014 Bob Skow, CPCU
2013 Wade Sheeler, CPCU
2012 Dean Brooks, CPCU
2011 Theodore (Ted) D. Lussem, CPCU
2010 Judith A. Brannon, CPCU
2009 Dr Therese M. Vaughan, CPCU
2008 Larry Matthews, CPCU
2007 Bruce G. Kelley, CPCU (pictured below left with Kevin Seward)

The Iowa Chapter Excellence Award

The Iowa Chapter Excellence Award is presented to an individual or business that exemplifies CPCU excellence through dedication to insurance education and professionalism, and through continuous support and contributions to the members of the Iowa CPCU Society Chapter.

Recipients of the Excellence Award are announced at the May chapter meeting.

Year Recipient

2019 Alyssa Saunders
2013 Chris Murphy
2012 Nancy Green
2011 Cerie Garton
2010 Kevin Seward
2009 Wade Sheeler
2008 Jon Grether
2007 Robert Conroy
2006 Larry Matthews
2005 Emmett Vaughan (posthumously)
2005 Jeff Jeffus
2004 Judy Brannon
2003 LaMair Mulock Condon
2002 Grinnell Mutual
2002 Farm Bureau
2002 Bruce Kelley